Justice Eady announced as new President of the Employment Appeal Tribunal (EAT)

Justice Jennifer Eady has been appointed President of the EAT.

25 Feb 2022| News

The Lord Chief Justice has announced that the next President of the Employment Appeal Tribunal will be The Honourable Mrs Justice Eady. Her term of office began on 1st February 2022.

Dame Jennifer Eady sat as a fee-paid Employment Judge from 2001-2008, and became a Recorder in 2004, before being appointed as a Senior Circuit Judge for the Employment Appeal Tribunal in 2013 until she became a High Court Judge, assigned to the Queen’s Bench Division, in 2019.

Jennifer’s career started at Old Square Chambers, as a pupil in 1990. She took Silk in 2006, maintaining a heavy practice alongside various judicial appointments. Other positions she held included chair of the ILS and Vice President, trustee of FRU and member of the ACAS council.

In addition, Jennifer Eady previously wrote Labour Law Review for the IER, alongside Jeremy McMullen, Rebecca Tuck QC and Betsan Criddle.

She succeeds The Honourable Mr Justice Choudhury, who stood down from the role on 31 December 2021 and who has served as President since January 2019.

More details here.